Absolutely Horrifying: Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords Shot Point Blank in Tucson, Arizona

Update: I stand corrected. Gabrielle Giffords has NOT passed away. She is in critical condition after surgery.

My update above brings me to something I want to blog about in the future: The media and their incorrect reporting. I had read an article earlier today stating Congresswomen Giffords had passed away and was shot at point blank with a shotgun. This story was NOT true. I am disgusted and do apologize if I offended anyone. I will be cautious in the future at blogging in situations like these.

Update: Gabrielle Giffords wounds were fatal and she has passed away. Extremely sad news.

My wife and I just caught wind of this on television. Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ), was just shot outside a Safeway in Arizona. According to the news report we just watched, she was shot point-blank in the head. There was another report that stated she had passed away, but according to ABC that report may have been false and she may currently be in surgery.

For me, this is another Political Heavy Sigh. Whether your Republican, Democrat, or Independent, this type of reaction towards an American politician is disgusting, sad, tragic, and horrifying. The only reason I would add a news story like this onto my blog is to express how painfully frustrated this makes me feel as an American. I will never understand why people think murder or assassination is the way to resolve their political differences when we have a process called “voting”. Say what you will about the corruption of voting, but no matter how you spin it when have the best voting system in the world.

My wife and I send our prayers to Gabrielle and her husband. Here’s her Twitter account below as well as an article I found from the NY Times:

Twitter Account: http://twitter.com/#!/Rep_Giffords

NY Times: Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords Shot in Tucson – NYTimes.com.

About Modern American Man

I'm a blogger from the Pacific Northwest who wants to create dialogue about American culture.
This entry was posted in Political Heavy Sigh and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Absolutely Horrifying: Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords Shot Point Blank in Tucson, Arizona

  1. Heard this morning Gabrielle was responding to questions. It was verbally, but doctors are cautiously hopeful.

Leave a Reply

