Minecraft: Lego’s for Adults

Even though I complained about not being able to play World of Warcraft: Cataclysm, I must admit that I’ve actually found another game to play that I can enjoy without feeling guilty. I can shut it off at any time and my progress is always saved. The game? Well, it’s called Minecraft.

Minecraft was developed by Markus Persson (aka Notch), a Swedish game designer. Story goes he worked for a company who made games and eventually left them to pursue his own interests. I’m not sure of the finite details, but you can find out more about Markus online. Just Google him.

This game is simple, but fun. Wikipedia describes it as:

Minecraft is a sandbox building  video game which allows players to build constructions out of textured cubes in a 3D world.”

There’s one other element, which is the MONSTERS! AAHHHH! Every time nightfall happens, monsters come out and attack. There’s spiders, zombies, explosive green creatures, and skeletons with bows and arrows. I may be missing something, but I think I’ve covered beyond the basics (If you’re not sure, then purchase a copy for yourself and you’ll see why the above description appears simplistic: http://www.minecraft.net/)

Even though I’m 37 (And about to turn 38) I still like playing video games. It’s a culture I’ve grown up with and like Parcheesi for the elderly this is something I still participate in to this day and will do so until I’m old. This game in particular appears to be a throwback to games of old, which is why I enjoy it. It’s almost like Lego’s for grownups, except you’ll get attacked by monsters if you don’t hide at night somewhere well lit. I’ve built a Millennium Falcon (Currently working on my second Falcon on a dedicated server with my best friend) and I’m trying to reconstruct a slightly different version of the Mines of Moria from Lord of the Rings. Total nerd alert, right?

The thing that has impressed me about the creator is the fact he’s sold over 880,000 copies at around $7-9 on average per purchase. What an amazing story of entrepreneurial spirit. People are drawn to this simple indulgence. My best bud and I have a blog for our server. We’re by no means experts at this game, but we keep track of some of our minor accomplishments (http://moietycraft.posterous.com/). Check out the intro video below for the game. It only touches upon Minecraft and its possibilities. I’ll also include some of the things people have done as well, which is pretty amazing work when you view it.

Minecraft Intro Video:

Other Minecraft Videos:

About Modern American Man

I'm a blogger from the Pacific Northwest who wants to create dialogue about American culture.
This entry was posted in Video Gaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Minecraft: Lego’s for Adults

  1. Schnyd says:

    I spent all day today working on my roller coaster… what can I say, I LOVE THIS GAME

Leave a Reply

