What I Love: Cafe Flora in Seattle: The Dream Vegetarian Restaurant

My wife and I both grew up in and around the Seattle, WA area. My wife and I live in the Seattle area right now. We lived in the Portland, Oregon area for about 5 years, but that was for my wife’s schooling. When we came back to Seattle 2 years ago the one thing that was missing in our lives was a restaurant that we loved as much as our favorite place in Portland: Mother’s Bistro. That is, until we found Cafe Flora!

Over the years I’ve had to alter my diet in order to save my stomach from certain suffering. I was diagnosed about 6 years ago with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (Also known as IBS). Now, you might be reading this and be asking yourself: What does this have to do with a restaurant? Well, a lot actually. One of the things that was the leading cause of my stomach ailments was meat. It didn’t matter if it was red meat, chicken, pig, or turkey. Any kind of meat was real hard for my stomach to digest and for my intestines to pass. I had to turn to alternatives, which eating more vegetarian type meals has really helped control my IBS. Of course, it’s hard to find a restaurant with a good vegetarian menu. It’s even harder to find a vegetarian restaurant…Period. That is, until we found Cafe Flora.

When we found Cafe Flora we were attracted to their vegetarian menu (Not one ounce of meat!). One of the biggest concerns with anyone eating a vegetarian restaurant is: Will the food be as hearty as a thick, juicy steak? The answer: Absolutely yes! The items that I have particularly enjoyed have been the Portobello Wellington. The Wellington is grilled Portobello mushrooms, leeks and mushroom pecan pâté in puff pastry with Madeira wine sauce, served with mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables (Description taken straight from the menu). Not only was it delicious and hearty, but the flavors were both full and light. Incredible! I added a drink to my meal which I believe was seasonal. I can’t seem to find it now, but I assure you: There drink menu is incredible!

My wife and I have begun to go there for breakfast as well. It has not been disappointing. I have had both the Breakfast Quesadilla: A flour tortilla filled with roasted yam, poblano peppers, corn and Pepper Jack cheese wrapped with egg topped with “Snappy Sauce”, tomatillo salsa, lime crème fraîche and served with wild greens dressed in cilantro vinaigrette, and the Quiche Ratatouille: Fresh herbs and a blend of Parmesan, Cheddar, and Smoked Mozzarella cheeses baked with the traditional custard and topped with a smoky eggplant ratatouille–Served with wild greens dressed in balsamic vinaigrette. Both have been the best breakfast’s I’ve ever had in my life. That is no exaggeration. We both enjoyed their Stumptown Coffee with our breakfast along with a Mimosa.

The wait staff is incredibly helpful, pleasant, and allows for conversation without obsessive interruption. The environment offers a comfortable, natural, plant filled room on the right when you walk in, or a pleasantly lit room on the left that houses their bar where the master mixologists create memorable drinks that compliment the season.

To top it off, you can actually try to make this stuff from home! Cafe Flora does offer a book that shows how to cook some of their most popular recipes. There are some subtle differences between a few of them, but in general it gives you a great list of fantastic vegetarian food to make in your own home.

If you’ve never experienced vegetarian food at its best, or you are a vegetarian and you’re new to the Seattle area or visiting from out of town, try Cafe Flora. I promise you an incredibly delicious, diverse menu with excellent drinks and a helpful, insightful staff. I’m providing links below to everything I noted in this blog.

Cafe Flora: http://www.cafeflora.com/

Cafe Flora Cookbook on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cafe-Flora-Cookbook-Catherine-Geier/dp/1557884714

Stumptown Coffee: http://www.stumptowncoffee.com/

Mother’s Bistro: http://www.mothersbistro.com/

About Modern American Man

I'm a blogger from the Pacific Northwest who wants to create dialogue about American culture.
This entry was posted in Consumerism, What I Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Love: Cafe Flora in Seattle: The Dream Vegetarian Restaurant

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Cafe Flora in Seattle: The Dream Vegetarian Restaurant « Modern American Man -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

