a Modern American Man

A friend of mine who just started his own blog wrote something to the effect of (This isn’t an exact quote, but…) “This is my 3rd or 4th attempt at a blog…Each time I did a blog it was specifically themed and I ran out of content fast.”

Amen brother. By the way, I love you brother and I’m not afraid to say it!

That’s exactly where I’m at. This time around, I’m doing this for me. I need this. It isn’t because I’m at a crossroads or anything like that. I just want to say what I want to say, but I have to be careful. See, I work for a multi-billion retailer that has a set of standards concerning public appearance. I represent that public appearance. I’m also in Upper Management. In their words: I’m an “Officer of the Company”. I truly respect that concern. My Company has done a lot for my personal life and I’m not about to jeopardize that. I may at times vaguely discuss my Workplace, but it will be vague.

I suppose one would ask where I came up with the anonymous name of “Modern American Man”? Well, as I was alluding to above I needed to first choose a name other than my own to protect myself from accountability for potentially writing something that would be against Company Policy. Secondly, I wanted to choose something that I felt summarized how I felt about myself. I am…For all intensive purposes…A Modern American Man.

I’m divorced. Well, I got a divorce around 10 years ago. I’m remarried now. In December, I will have been married for 3 years. My Wife and I have been together a total of 7 plus years (8 years in February of 2011). I also have 4 kids. I have a 15 year old daughter I had at the age of 21. Actually, I didn’t have her. Her mother did, who is my ex-girlfriend from years ago. I also have a 13 year old daughter and an 11 year old son. My ex-wife and I had those children together. Now I have an 8 week old daughter. My wife and I had her together in May 2010. Yeah, I know…Man-whore, right? Nah! I take responsibility for all my kids. I also pay my child support, every month, on time. And all of them are on my medical plan. It’s expensive, but they’re my children. I love them all. My 15 year old daughter is a difficult kid though. She’s angry, confused, and usually shuts me out for a while. That’s been the routine for 3 years now.

I work for a major company at a high level management position. I would call me corporate, but “in the field”. I like video games, and to answer the question now: Yes, I did play World of Warcraft for while. I’m taking a break now until Cataclysm comes out. I have an Xbox 360 and over 20,000 Achievement Points. I have a High Def television, a Motorola Droid X, and I drive a Kia Rio. I like the show The Office, Ghost Hunters, and I watch the Food Network quite a bit. I cook. I clean. I even change diapers. I cry at movies and sometimes really good television (Like the last episode of Lost). I use to be a huge sports fan, and I even played basketball in high school even though I never made varsity. I boxed as well, and I took 3 years of martial arts lessons.

I read a little of everything from Norwegian author Knut Hamsun to J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. I have friends, but not too many. I have one best friend who I love like a brother and a pretty cool brother-in-law who’s an engineer and an avid soccer fan.

What am I? Well, I’m a Modern American Man. I’m a little of everything. I represent a bit of a lot of people I know. I’ve been called Metro Sexual by some and Macho by others. I’ve been in fist fights in front of bars and wept when dumped by the “hot girl” only to make a mix tape of love songs to get her back. I’m a lot like you. So, give this a try. Read. Relate.

Every time I write it won’t be like this: Long and full of blather. I’ll generally keep it in short snippets. Also, I will use foul language on occasion. It’s real. It’s raw. It’s what we hear every day. Read if you want. Comment if you must, but remember: I’m doing this for me.

P.S. I won’t edit often. I didn’t really edit this. I’m not going for the Nobel Peace Prize for literature.

About Modern American Man

I'm a blogger from the Pacific Northwest who wants to create dialogue about American culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

